I blog information, news and recipes about gluten-free, wheat-free, dairy-free, egg-free, alcohol-free and vegan cooking. Right now I've been working on an exciting project where I avoid refined sugar and create recipes using a range of healthier alternatives.

Happy cooking!

ps. ask all guests if they have an allergy (because the recipes use some unusual combinations and they may not expect to find citrus and soya in the chocolate cake, for example).
pps.if you are cooking for someone with an allergy, please read my allergy page first.

Choosing chocolate to use

Plain dark chocolate is one of the few processed foods I use in my recipes. But which bar to choose? You might have thought that dark chocolate would be OK because it doesn’t contain milk. However, quite often you’d be wrong – many brands of dark chocolate have milkfat added to prevent that white ‘bloom’ you sometimes get (which is why I specify ‘dairy free').
If that wasn’t bad enough, most chocolate may contain traces of milk, nuts or wheat because of the factory lines they were produced on.
If you’re not cooking for someone with an allergy, then many dark chocolate brands contain no animal ingredients – eg Green & Blacks Organic Dark 70%, among others. If you can’t risk the slightest trace of wheat/milk/nuts, then try Plamil Free From Luxury Chocolate (available in health food stores or online from the Plamil website